Skip to content

[Bug]: Deleted projects and actors are unintelligible in Events UI #3420

Description

@jvstme

Steps to reproduce

  1. Create a user.
  2. Create a project as that user.
  3. Delete the project.
  4. Delete the user.
  5. View the events page.

Actual behaviour

Unlike other deleted entities that preserve their names, deleted actors and projects are displayed with an automatically generated name substitute.

Image

This makes it difficult to investigate incidents.

Expected behaviour

  • Show the original names of deleted actors and projects.
  • Do not add hyperlinks to user and project details of deleted actors and projects — such links could unintentionally lead to newly created users and projects with the same name.
  • Use some visual element (e.g., a bin icon or a text label) to show that the actor or the project is deleted.

Implementing this in the UI requires some API updates:

  • Return the original names of deleted actors and projects.
  • Add a flag indicating that the user or the project was deleted.

dstack version

0.20.0

Server logs

Additional information

No response

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    bugSomething isn't workingstale

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions